Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Resin Dyes
There is a one-off project I want to do which calls for a specific clear colour which isn't readily available. I'm thinking of trying using an epoxy dye which some sources suggest will work fine with 3D printed resins but they are light on details about which dyes work best etc.

Does anyone have experience with dyeing resin and in particular the Elegoo transparent resin?
(07-25-2019, 04:41 AM)GBee Wrote: There is a one-off project I want to do which calls for a specific clear colour which isn't readily available. I'm thinking of trying using an epoxy dye which some sources suggest will work fine with 3D printed resins but they are light on details about which dyes work best etc.

Does anyone have experience with dyeing resin and in particular the Elegoo transparent resin?
I am new to the 3D printing world, as I have only had my printer for less than 2 weeks. It was an early present from my fiancé and with it I got a 1000ml bottle of the Elegoo green translucent resin and have printed my way through that bootle in a few days. After I felt the addiction of 3D printing, we ordered so more Elegoo resin (blue and red), however, due to shipping mishaps I never received these bottles and had to re-order them. While my blue and red resin were floating around at post offices, I ordered and bottle of the Clear resin and received an opportunity to review another clear/translucent brand of resin and a set of dye colors (this was to help replace my blue and red quickly).