Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
IPA / SLA Solution disposal
Hi,
    I am an SLA printing noob. I understand that SLA resin is pretty toxic stuff and you can't just pour IPA solution saturated with it down the drain. I have been looking for safety data sheets to tell me how to handle and dispose of used resin, but I don't seem to be able to locate any on the internet.
I understand from what Iv'e  read that a good way to recover the IPA from a mixture of SLA resin and IPA would be to expose the solution to UV light to cure the resin and then filter out the precipitate.
I can't leave my filter paper outside to dry off where I live as many people have suggested, because it rains nearly all the time in the UK..
I am wondering if it would it be okay to burn the filter paper with the precipitate on it or would this be a bad idea ?

Similarly with the water washable resins what is the correct way to dispose of the waste water ?

Thanks for any advice

Jack Taylor
(11-27-2019, 01:41 PM)Mom zogtrog Wrote: Hi,
    I am an SLA printing noob. I understand that SLA resin is pretty toxic stuff and you can't just pour IPA solution saturated with it down the drain. I have been looking for safety data sheets to tell me how to handle and dispose of used resin, but I don't seem to be able to locate any on the internet.
I understand from what Iv'e  read that a good way to recover the IPA from a mixture of SLA resin and IPA would be to expose the solution to UV light to cure the resin and then filter out the precipitate.
I can't leave my filter paper outside to dry off where I live as many people have suggested, because it rains nearly all the time in the UK..
I am wondering if it would it be okay to burn the filter paper with the precipitate on it or would this be a bad idea ?

Similarly with the water washable resins what is the correct way to dispose of the waste water ?

Thanks for any advice

Jack Taylor