Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hollowing out models before slicing them.
I'm new to this 3d printing game, so I'm possibly doing something stupid or very wrong.  I understand that you can hollow out your models using the CHITUBOX software to save on resin and make printing much cheaper.  However, when I do that, and then slice the model, it's showing me a solid model and telling me it's going to cost about €10 in resin to print it.  Is there something I need to do after hollowing out the model before slicing it and exporting it so I can print the hollow model and not use so much resin?  Thanks in advance.

OKay, I tried a different STL model I downloaded which hollowed out fine, but I still can't print it, I'll start a new thread.
Well, you do need to add drain holes, but as far as the hollow itself, no. As soon as you hit hollow, it should go through the layers showing you how it did it. It's super obvious that it's now hollow. If it's not, check your settings and think about what they mean, and how that would work with your model. ( For example, if you had a simple cylinder that is 10mm wide, and did a hollow with a 5mm wall thickness, that would leave 0 thickness for the hollow. )