Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rook print almost perfect
Hi all, I’m new to 3d printing… got the elegoo mars 2 pro for Christmas and only just done the rook test print.

Everything went smoothly and got two rooks  Smile but… there seems to be a little flaking and not sure what would have caused it. No other issues visible.

I used the test as is (probably the issue) so whatever settings it had baked in. The resin I used was the grey elegoo water washable rapid resin.

I’ve attached a picture and look forward to hearing from you all.

Many thanks (happy new year)
Muzzy

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

(12-31-2021, 11:12 AM)Muzzy Wrote: Hi all, I’m new to 3d printing… got the elegoo mars 2 pro for Christmas and only just done the rook test print.

Everything went smoothly and got two rooks  Smile but… there seems to be a little flaking and not sure what would have caused it. No other issues visible.

I used the test as is (probably the issue) so whatever settings it had baked in. The resin I used was the grey elegoo water washable rapid resin.

Muzzy
Apparently (I have not used it) water washable resins can be awkward if the temperature (>25'C) or exposure time are not perfect .

It might be worth finding a resin exposure test print and tuning the time to suit the resin you have
(01-03-2022, 02:40 PM)billtodd Wrote:
(12-31-2021, 11:12 AM)Muzzy Wrote: Hi all, I’m new to 3d printing… got the elegoo mars 2 pro for Christmas and only just done the rook test print.

Muzzy
Apparently (I have not used it) water washable resins can be awkward if the temperature (>25'C) or exposure time are not perfect .

It might be worth finding a resin exposure test print and tuning the time to suit the resin you have

hi billtodd thanks for the reply. Would the temp being too cold also cause issues? It was definitely less than 25’c. I have since managed to print a few things and not suffered the same issue.