Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sticky & Slimy prints?
I'm very new to SLA printing (and all 3D printing really), and I've been trying various resins.

One thing they all seem to have in common is that even after curing for 10-15 minutes under a 6w (marketed as effectively 60w) UV light at close range on a turntable, in a UV-reflective grow tent, they remain sort of 'sticky'. Enough so to gain textured fingerprints if squeezed slightly. Is that normal? Is that indicative of the parts not actually being cured, or...? They don't appear to be actually wet even though they feel sort of wet.

Also, after washing (I've tried 99% IPA manually and Mean Green in an ultrasonic for 8 minutes on different prints), it seems like the prints always have some slick substance on them, which I assume is resin (if it was one of the cleaning agents I assume it would rapidly evaporate and not be so 'slick')... so what am I doing wrong?
what resin do you use? and show us your UV light (may be it's not 405nm).
how is your processing: printing -> washing (IPA) -> curing ?
and - please - show us your exposure times from the slicer
(01-25-2020, 12:02 AM)fromFDMtoSLA Wrote: what resin do you use? and show us your UV light (may be it's not 405nm).

I've tried various resins. From the Elegoo clear/translucent, the Anycubic Eco translucent, Anycubic Eco blue translucent, "SainSmart Rapid UV 405nm 3D Printer Resin" grey, going to try Anycubic grey now.

The light I'm using is here: Amazon Link
It claims to be a 405nm light.

In the slicer, I'm not at my PC right now, but I've just been using 70s base and 12s for each layer after for every resin I've tried. Seems to be within what's suggested on the sides of the bottle.