Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can ELEGOO Mars print functional objects?
Hi, 

I'm a high school student and I study robotics and electronics in my school. I have got an Anet A8 but recently I got impressed by 3d LCD resin printers, especially by the ELEGOO Mars because of his good value for money.

My question is: can I print some functional objects like mechanical parts for small robots and other stuff like that, or not?
Absolutely you can, there are different resins for different needs Smile
... yes, it can! - not with the stability of injection molded plastic parts, but with "tough" resins good enough.

Or you use "water soluble" resin for printing "one off" injection mould forms Wink

Viktor
(12-14-2019, 03:45 PM)Podret Wrote: My question is: can I print some functional objects like mechanical parts for small robots and other stuff like that, or not?

No. You need to pay a toolmaker to make stuff for you. You need to keep guys like me employed.  Big Grin  Actually, I print nothing BUT functional stuff. Don't get me wrong, figures are cool and require a LOT of intricate work and thought, but I don't know what the hell I would do with them after printing them. Smile

3D printing started out as a tool for rapid prototyping, The parts were mostly for visual reference, but evolved into functional prototypes and low volume parts. As speed gets better, and printers get cheaper, eventually MOST manufacturing will be done via some form of additive manufacturing...and I will be out of a job. Wink

The attached photo is of some clamps I printed to hold some small parts in a fixture I made for milling. They're printed in cheap gray resin and probably won't hold up - they may crack in half if I really reef on the screws - but if they do, I'll try again in a different resin. Clamps.

Part of the process of evolving this technology is recognizing opportunities to use it. That's where YOU come in. GET CREATIVE!

[Image: E2pE9n6]